Seventh-grader Addison Mallon pitched in relief against Freeport [ FCHS Athletic Department ]
|

Lady Seahawks open with pre-season wins

The Lady Seahawks varsity softball team opened the 2023 season with a pair of pre-season wins, downing Marianna and Freeport.

On Feb. 14, Franklin County edged Class 3A powerhouse Marianna 6-5. Sophomore pitcher Sarah Ham took the win, while sophomore Micahlyn O’Neal was 2 for 2 with two RBI to lead the offense. 

Ham belted in the winning run in the bottom of the seventh inning, driving in seventh-grader shortstop Addison Mallon with no outs and the bases loaded to win the game. 

Mallon, eighth grader Lilah Millender, sixth grader Shasta Butler, sophomore Ryan Brown and freshman Averie Johnson all added base hits to lead the offense.



On Feb. 17, the Lady Seahawks overpowered Freeport in a 10-3 shellacking. O’Neal led the charge with a first-inning three-run home run over the centerfield wall. 

The team pounded out 14 hits including two doubles by Butler, a double and a single from Mallon, and two base hits each by Brown and Millender. Freshman Lexi Webb, sophomore Raegan Dempsey, junior Taylor Mallon, and Ham all had a base hit. Sophomore Charity Larkin completes the 2023 roster.

Ham hurled six innings giving up no earned runs on three hits and four walks. Addison Mallon pitched the final inning, giving up no runs on one hit. 

“I think it was a good start in all facets of the game,” said coach Scott Collins. “We made a couple of errors this week that were costly, but our defense made some spectacular plays also. Our pitching was very good and we were aggressive at the plate.” 

2023 Lady Seahawks schedule

Tuesday, Feb. 21 vs. Chiles

Thursday, Feb. 23 @ Blountstown

Friday, and Saturday, Feb. 24 and 25: JV Tournament

Monday, Feb. 27 @Taylor County

Tuesday, Feb. 28 vs. Wewa

Friday, March 3 @ Panama City Tournament vs. South Sumter and Geneva

Saturday, March 4 @ Panama City Tournament vs. Baker and Ponce De Leon

Tuesday, March 7 vs. Wakulla

Thursday, March 9 vs. North Florida Christian

Friday, March 10 @ Chiles

Friday, March 17 @ Sneads

Tuesday, March 21 @ Wewa

Thursday, March 23 vs. Port St. Joe

Friday, March 24 @ Lincoln

Wednesday, March 29 @ Wakulla JV Doubleader 

Thursday, March 30 vs. Mosley

Friday, March 31 vs. Sneads

Tuesday, April 4 @ North Florida Christian

Thursday, April 6 vs. Blountstown

Tuesday, April 11 @ Port St. Joe

Thursday, April 13 @ Wakulla

Friday, April 14 vs. Taylor County

Friday, April 21 vs. Lincoln

Tuesday, April 25 @ Leon

Friday, April 28 @ Mosley

May 1 to 5 District Tournament



Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.