FSU Named to Joe Moore Award Midseason Honor Roll

TALLAHASSEE – No. 4 Florida State’s offensive line was recognized Tuesday on the Midseason Honor Roll for the Joe Moore Award, given to the nation’s top offensive line unit. The Joe Moore Award winner will be announced in late December.

Florida State’s offensive line is the most experienced in college football, with six starters tallying at least 30 starts in their career – D’Mitri Emmanuel (44), Jeremiah Byers and Casey Roddick (36 each), Maurice Smith (33), Darius Washington (31) and Robert Scott Jr. (30). Bless Harris has started 11 games in his career, including three this season.

At Boston College, the offensive line did not allow a tackle for loss, just the second time in school history the Seminoles accomplished the feat. FSU leads the ACC and ranks fifth nationally, allowing just 3.50 tackles for loss per game.

Along with the game at Boston College, FSU also did not allow a sack of quarterback Jordan Travis in the season opener against No. 5 LSU.

FSU has earned ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week after three of its six games this season – Harris won against LSU, Emmanuel against Southern Miss and Washington against Virginia Tech, when running back Trey Benson became just the second Seminole over the last 30 years with a 200-yard rushing game.

No. 4 Florida State hosts No. 16 Duke Saturday at 7:30 p.m. on ABC. FSU improved to 6-0 overall and 4-0 in the ACC – its best start since 2015 – with a 41-3 win over Syracuse on Saturday.

Similar Posts

Meet the Editor

David Adlerstein, The Apalachicola Times’ digital editor, started with the news outlet in January 2002 as a reporter.

Prior to then, David Adlerstein began as a newspaperman with a small Boston weekly, after graduating magna cum laude from Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachusetts. He later edited the weekly Bellville Times, and as business reporter for the daily Marion Star, both not far from his hometown of Columbus, Ohio.

In 1995, he moved to South Florida, and worked as a business reporter and editor of Medical Business newspaper. In Jan. 2002, he began with the Apalachicola Times, first as reporter and later as editor, and in Oct. 2020, also began editing the Port St. Joe Star.

Wendy Weitzel The Star Digital Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.